Skip to the main content
Guidepost
FREE GUIDE: Ontario

Register your out-of-province vehicle in Ontario

This page is the free Ontario guide. No sign-in. Read on.

Facts checked September 2026 · See what changed · How we check

Step-by-step guide for new Ontario residents: inspection requirements, time limit, documents needed, and a free downloadable checklist.

  1. 1

    Key facts at a glance

    Open this section ↓

    Agency

    ServiceOntario

    Time limit

    30 days

    Inspection required

    Safety Standards Certificate (SSC)

    Insurance

    Separate private insurer

    Official ServiceOntario page →
    ↑ Close this section
  2. 2

    Time limit

    Open this section ↓

    30 days

    You have 30 days from the date you became an Ontario resident to register your out-of-province vehicle. The 30 days comes from the Official MTO Driver's Handbook ("Vehicle insurance and registration"); the ServiceOntario service page does not state a day-count.

    What happens if you miss the Ontario registration deadline

    Deadline: 30 days.

    Ontario's official page sets this deadline but does not publish a dollar penalty for missing it.

    Official source: ServiceOntario →
    ↑ Close this section
  3. 3

    Vehicle inspection

    Open this section ↓

    Safety Standards Certificate (SSC)

    Required

    Obtain the SSC from a licensed Ontario motor vehicle inspection station before registering.

    ↑ Close this section
  4. 4

    Documents you'll need

    Open this section ↓
    ↑ Close this section
  5. 5

    Watch out for

    13% Retail Sales Tax (RST) applies to private inter-provincial purchases.Open this section ↓

    13% Retail Sales Tax (RST) applies to private inter-provincial purchases. If you need to drive before getting the SSC and registration, you must purchase a 10-day Special Permit ($23.50) in person at ServiceOntario.

    ↑ Close this section
  6. 6

    Your Ontario registration checklist

    Open this section ↓
    YOUR ONTARIO REGISTRATION CHECKLIST

    Step-by-step for Ontario

    Follow these steps in order. Download the PDF to keep an offline copy.

    Watch out for

    13% Retail Sales Tax (RST) applies to private inter-provincial purchases. If you need to drive before getting the SSC and registration, you must purchase a 10-day Special Permit ($23.50) in person at ServiceOntario.

    Step 1: Check your deadline

    Step 2: Gather your documents

    Step 3: Vehicle inspection

    Step 4: Register your vehicle

    General information only, not legal or regulatory advice.

    ↑ Close this section
  7. 7

    Frequently asked questions

    Open this section ↓

    How long do I have to register my out-of-province vehicle in Ontario?

    You have 30 days from the date you became an Ontario resident to register your out-of-province vehicle. The 30 days comes from the Official MTO Driver's Handbook ("Vehicle insurance and registration"); the ServiceOntario service page does not state a day-count.

    What inspection is required in Ontario?

    Ontario requires a Safety Standards Certificate (SSC). Obtain the SSC from a licensed Ontario motor vehicle inspection station before registering.

    Where do I register in Ontario?

    Register through ServiceOntario. Official ServiceOntario page →

    ↑ Close this section
  8. 8Open this section ↓

Facts checked September 2026

Guidepost is not a law firm. This guide is for general information only. Full disclaimer

Informational guide only. Guidepost is not a law firm. This guide explains the typical process and is not legal advice. Requirements can change. Verify current rules with the relevant government authority or a qualified professional before you act.